Weekly Gaming Update #13 – Crap, I Completely Forgot About This

Totally forgot about making a post… whoops!  Well, I’m not tired, so might as well get to it!

New Games Bought:

Harmonia, Princess Maker 2 Refine, Paint It Back!
I got all three of these during the Steam Anime Sale.  Well, Paint It Back! isn’t anime, but it was on sale, so… there you have it.

New Games Started:

Harmonia – Completed
Princess Maker 2 Refine – Completed
Paint It Back! – In Progress

Games Beaten:

Tokyo Jungle
This is such a… unique game.  It’s a lot of fun, don’t get me wrong, but it’s one of the few cases where I just feel like it’d be better without a Story Mode.  Story Mode is a bit annoying at the start, to downright frustrating at the middle and end.  Survival is clearly both the best and main game mode, and it would have sufficed to tell what little Story Mode told in a couple extra data caches or whatever.  Trying to unlock Story Mode acts made playing in Survival is tedious, too, as my runs would end up being “run to data as fast as possible, pick up, die” with maybe a sprinkle of trying to unlock a new animal while I’m at it.  It’s such a fun and interesting game, so it’s a shame that it kind of trips over itself when it really could have done great as just an arcade-y game.

Harmonia
This was a kinetic visual novel, so basically I just read it.  It was a great tale, though, as expected from Key.  Very emotional, and I really found it great.  The twist around the end even makes you think about things, a bit… It’s well recommended, especially since it’s only $10 full price.

Princess Maker 2 Refine
So, I played Long Live The Queen, and really liked that.  It was pretty dope.  So I figured, might as well try a game that inspired it!  But man, Princess Maker 2 is weird.  It’s obviously a bit… outdated, since the game originally came out in 1993, but there’s just a lot of stuff going on that really gives the player issues.  Stats and what raises them/how they’re raised isn’t explained all that well; your daughter can get moody and delinquent and figuring out why that happens requires an Internet search; the amount of endings is overwhelming and the overload of stats makes getting any of the ones you actually want impossible without a guide; and so on.  It’s not bad, but when Long Live The Queen does the whole ‘raising sim’ thing better, I can’t really recommend this one over that.

In Progress

Paint It Back!
So, Paint It Back! is a Picross game, so I like it well enough.  It’s got the dumbest premise, but I don’t really care, just gimme the puzzles.  Unlike a typical Nintendo Picross game, Paint It Back! isn’t afraid to use oblong puzzle maps, or even gigantic 40×40 puzzles.  Also, you can always pick a lower difficulty that splits the puzzle into smaller parts that make huge maps a lot more tolerable.  I’m working through a few puzzles at a time, this will likely keep me busy for a while.  I do miss having it on the go with my 3DS, though…

The Secret of Monkey Island: Special Edition
I played more than a half an hour!  I’ve finished two out of the three trials that I got from the pirates.  And yes, I used a guide for it.  It’s a neat game, I really wish the controls were… better for a special edition, though.  Using or grabbing items is far too much of a pain in the ass.

Goals for Next Week

Are you kidding me?  Persona 5 is next week!

That about does it!  Next week’s entry will surely be shorter…

Write Something!

