Weekly Gaming Update #2 – Bugs and Poes and Crazy Time Shenanigans

Hey, I have tomorrow off of work!  Great, more time to laze around the house and play more games.  Or maybe not, I’ve been kinda meh on the game front this week.

New Games Bought:

The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel (both 1 and 2)
I was originally going to wait until I beat Trails in the Sky to get these, but then I sold my Vita and realized that the first one is already kinda getting hard to find on PS3, so I bit the bullet and bought them.

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword
Had a MyNintendo deal for the digital version, and I might as well give this title a fair shake.  Haha get it

Xenoblade Chronicles
Had a MyNintendo deal for the digital Wii version, and would much rather play it on console than handheld.  I probably won’t get to this one for a while, got a bunch of RPGs I’m still in the middle of and this one’s a biggie.

New Games Started:

Read Only Memories – In Progress

Games Beaten:

Life is Strange Episode 4: Dark Room
Oh man, did things get intense.  I cannot wait to get to the final episode and see how it ends up.  Maybe I’ll play Episode 5 when I’m done with this post!

Always Sometimes Monsters
I am still unimpressed with this title, for so many reasons.  I almost want to write a longer form blog on how the game disappointed me… we’ll see.  But, it basically took a premise that I thought was stupid and forced me to go through with it, and then tried to act all high and mighty on the few amoral decisions I made.  Look, game, you cannot make me feel bad about a decision after the fact, it happened.  Also, the writing was really subpar and is really what could have elevated this game–after all, in a game about sketchy morality and dealing with the decisions you made, good writing has to properly convey this or I’ll just be left rolling my eyes with how blunt everything is… and this game left my eyes rolling in non-stop circles.  It’s a shame, but I’m glad some people liked it, at least.  I did not.

In Progress:

The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess HD
So close… I just made it to the City in the Sky, after all that running around the game forced me to do.  I haven’t gone out of my way to do too much extra stuff, so I don’t have many extra heart containers, but I have like 35 poes and over half the bugs, as well as a smattering of stamps, so that’s neat.  I highly doubt I’ll complete this Zelda… I never have completed any of them due to the sheer tedium, but I do like that Twilight Princess isn’t at least like Wind Waker where I can only take three (or six, I can’t remember) pictures at a time, or Ocarina of Time where I have to put everything in bottles.

Fire Emblem Fates: Conquest
I’m up to Chapter 11.  I got to Chapter 8 or so last year but stopped, since I was burned out on Birthright, but… I really do want to at least get through this one, as for whatever reason I have a large backlog of SRPGs that I’ve started but haven’t bothered to finish.  I’m trying to level Moku up so she can be awesome, but man with limited experience in this one it’s hard to feed her kills.  Arthur sucked so I kicked him out of the party ASAP.  Odin’s probably getting the boot next, and getting replaced with Nyx.  Silas and Effie are doing fantastic, and I planned on marrying Silas to the MC (I got him to A rank and felt really bad because I already S ranked Kaze), so those kids might be cool.  Thus far, nothing too bad on the difficulty front, but I know it’ll get much, much harder.

Read Only Memories
I love how pretty this game is!  It’s so smooth, and the animations and pixels are just so good.  It gives me serious Phantasy Star vibes, too.  Of course, the story is pretty intriguing too, and I really like the setting and want to learn more.  I pissed off Jess, but meh, what are you going to do?

Goals for Next Week:

  • Finish Twilight Princess, for real.
  • Maybe play and beat Alan Wake’s America Nightmare after Twilight Princess.
  • Get farther in Conquest, I’d really like to beat it this month, if possible.
  • Finish up Life is Strange, I want to see the ending!
  • Keep playing Read Only Memories
  • Look at these Steam games some more.  Maybe try a few that I’m not sure if I’ll like, to see if I want to purge them from the backlog or not.

Progress for the Year:

4 New Games | 5 Beat Games | 0 Completed Games | 0 Master Runs | 0 Replays

We’ll see how productive I am next week!

One thought on “Weekly Gaming Update #2 – Bugs and Poes and Crazy Time Shenanigans

  1. I loved Alan Wake, but American Nightmare was a bit of a let down for me. Thought the premise was great, but in reality you end up doing the same thing over and over. Ended well though!

Write Something!

