Summer Gaming Challenge 2016–Let’s Go!

It’s that time of the year again… time to waste my summer playing video games.  Well, not really, but since I’m taking the entire summer off classes this seems like the perfect opportunity to catch up on some classics.

For those unaware the Summer Gaming Challenge is a challenge done at the Racketboy forums every year.  It’s where you play 10 games that are considered “classics” (in whatever definition of the word you want to use) and sound off your thoughts about them.  Since the summertime is typically hot and younger participants usually have a lot more free time, it’s the perfect period to catch up on some games that may have fallen on the wayside.

I will, of course, keep my updates here, on my long neglected blog.  Everytime I finish a game, I’ll do a write up on it.  Simple enough.  I fully plan on beating all of these games by the end of August, before my classes start up again.  Of course… since I’m really dead set on making that goal, I’ve also made sure there aren’t *too* many RPGs on my list.  Because otherwise it’d be way too much.

Without further ado, here is my list for this year:

Super Metroid (SNES via Wii U VC)
Super Mario Galaxy (Wii)
Earthbound (SNES via Wii U VC)
Shining Force II (Genesis via Steam)
Kirby’s Adventure (NES via Kirby’s Dream Collection)
The Legend of Zelda (NES via 3DS VC)
Metal Gear Solid (PS1 via PSOne Classics)
Suikoden II (PS1 via PSOne Classics)
Harvest Moon: Back to Nature (PS1 via PSOne Classics)
Radiant Historia (DS)

Five console games, five handheld games (since I’ll play PSOne Classics on my Vita).  A nice split!

Well, that’s about it.  My Summer Gaming Challenge will be starting now, and I have until the end of August to beat them all!

Write Something!

