Summer Gaming Challenge 2014

It’s that time of the year again… time for the Summer Gaming Challenge!  I’m going to be a little lazy and just cut and copy the information from a post I made elsewhere here.

The Summer Gaming Challenge is when you choose ten games to play over the summer that are considered ‘classics’ that you’ve not played for one reason or another.  Since Racketboy’s a retro community, they tend to stick to older games, but it really can be a game from any generation.  Most of my games tend to fall in the modern generations.

My time span will be from June 1 to around the end of August (haven’t decided if that’ll be the day my fall classes start or the end of the month).

Here’s my list for this year:

  • Shadow Hearts (PS2)
  • Luigi’s Mansion (GC)
  • Super Mario RPG: Legend of the 7 Stars (SNES, via Wii VC)
  • Radiant Historia (DS)
  • The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds (3DS)
  • Shin Megami Tensei: Digital Devil Saga (PS2)
  • Suikoden (PS1, via PS1 Classics)
  • Ni No Kuni:Wrath of the White Witch (PS3)
  • Shenmue II (Xbox)
  • Journey (PS3) [Post]

I actually have a nice representation of consoles this year… which I decided to do since last year’s method of only doing two consoles failed pretty hard.  I actually wanted to include a lot of retro games this year, but since the Retron 5 took forever and a half to come out, I suppose it’ll have to wait until next time.

There’s actually a few games on this list that I’ve already started (NNK, DDS, and Shadow Hearts) that I’ve never gotten around to finishing.  Mario RPG and ALBW I’ve really been wanting to play, but never found time.  I feel like I have an obligation to play Shenmue II, and the others were mainly chosen by Slayn Bacon, because I couldn’t decide anything (some of the others were games he picked too, but I had at least an idea that I wanted to put them on the list in the first place).

As usual, when I beat a game I’ll write up a quick post about it; and if I beat an RPG that’s not in RPGSite’s database, I’ll also write up a formal review there.

This year, I’m hoping to beat at least five of the games.  Of course, I’m gonna try to beat them all, but I also have to be a little realistic!

Write Something!

