Gaming Overview – July 2013

Geez, it felt like July lasted forever!  Well, it’s finally August now, and that means it’s time for another gaming overview.  I don’t have too much to say before I dive into the stats… so let’s just go ahead and do so.  Of course, I grab these stats from my Backloggery page.

WHAT DID YOU BUY?

Not as much as I thought, especially considering the Steam Summer Sales were this month.  I got Custom Robo (Custom!), Viewtiful Joe 2 (now more viewtiful!), and Baten Kaitos Origins (sequels are prequels!) to help round out my GameCube collection.  I picked up the Walking Dead: 400 Days episode (plot bridges!) as well.  In terms of downloads on the 3DS, I picked up Shining Force: The Sword of Hajya (what a terrible sword name!) and all the new StreetPass Mii Plaza games (now with tickets!).  Finally, on Steam this month, I got Organ Trail: The Director’s Cut (zombies!), The Witcher 2 (with subtitle I don’t feel like typing out!), Gunpoint (violence isn’t the answer!), and Evoland (gimmicks!).  There were a few other games, but they weren’t for me.  Oh, and I got Mystic Chronicles (Misty!) and Attack of the Friday Monsters! (it’s Friday!) for review.

It’s a hefty list, but not as hefty as I thought it’d be.

WHAT DID YOU BEAT?

When have I ever beat more games than I bought?

  • The Walking Dead: 400 Days (7/07) – It seems like a nice bridge for Season 2, but of course it doesn’t have the emotional impact a five episode story would have.
  • King of Fighters XIII (7/09) – It’s a great fighting game.  I’m very rusty at SNK fighters now, though… I couldn’t even complete all of Story Mode, though I got close.
  • Organ Trail: The Director’s Cut (7/10) – It’s Oregon Trail, but with zombies.  You can see my full thoughts here.
  • Attack of the Friday Monsters! A Tokyo Tale (7/20) – Short, sweet, but great. You can see my official review here.

Yep, that’s it.  I really haven’t felt like playing games too much this month.

ANYTHING ELSE?

Let’s see, the end of July marks the official end of the A-Z Marathon.  Ultimately I failed the marathon, since I never completed an ‘X’ game, but 24/25 is good enough for me.  Organ Trail ended up being my ‘O’ game too, so it all went better than expected.  I didn’t make any real progress in my Summer Gaming Challenge (due to again not wanting to play games all that much), but I’m hoping to power through a bunch of the games this month.

Also, I finally completed Find Mii II, meaning I got all the hats. Yay!  Less than a week later the new games were introduced though, so it’s back to StreetPassing for me.

On Game Podunk, a lot of my articles went live.  Take a gander at 4 Odd and Unusual Handhelds from the Game Industry’s Past, Memory Lane: July Releases Throughout the Years, and 7 Completely Free Video Games Albums from June 2013.  Also, there’s my review of Attack of the Friday Monsters!, my preview of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, and A Look at StreetPass Mii Plaza’s 4 New Games.  Whew, that’s a lot!  Now my backlog of articles are out, and now I’ll have to write a bunch to get the count up again!

I still haven’t written anything for The Dusty Corner, yet.  The blog tends to take a back seat to things, so I haven’t updated it in a while.

——

That’s all for this month!  August has a ton of exciting new games coming to us, and also a lot of things I get to write about.  See you at the end of it all!

 

Write Something!

