Zelda Challenge – Day 3

Day 3: Which game do you think has the best plot-line, why?

This is a bit more of a difficult question for me to answer… mainly because most of the ones with supposedly the ‘best’ plotlines I haven’t played yet.  I’ve heard Twilight Princess and Skyward Sword have great plots, but I haven’t even touched them.  I think Wind Waker’s plot is decent, as well as Link’s Awakening, but I wouldn’t go so far as to say they’re the best.

Being a little hard pressed, I’ll say that the Zelda that has the best plot that I know about is Majora’s Mask.  To be honest, I haven’t played Majora’s Mask either (the time limit and a huge moon looming over me scares me), but I do know enough about the story to say that it’s pretty great.  The land of Termina, seen through the eyes of Link during its (possibly) final three days is nothing short of amazing.  Because of the moon threatening to destroy everything in three days, you get to see how the land’s denizens react… how they cope, and how they come to terms with the end.  It’s amazing how Nintendo portrays these characters, and treads into a much darker and more emotional tale than the other Zeldas do.

I mean, what other Zelda (or Nintendo game, for that matter) boils a monkey to death?  Gruesome.

Anyway… the fact that you can make everyone’s life okay again, and still make it in time to save Termina itself, is the icing on the cake.  It might be almost impossible to do in one cycle, but to be able to make the people of Termina happy and full of life again is more than enough motivation.

Write Something!

