Zelda Challenge – Day 2

Day 2: What game would you consider to be your favorite, why? When did you first play this game?

I have a lot of trouble deciding which Zelda is my favorite.  I recently played the 3DS remake of Ocarina of Time, and with it being my first time with the game, I absolutely adored it.  I also love A Link To The Past, because, simply enough, of how good it was.  Then again, I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for Link’s Awakening… there’s something about it (nostalgia?  crazy plot?  marin?) that makes me remember it so fondly.

But since I have to pick one, just one, I have to go with The Wind Waker.

I love everything that has to do with Wind Waker.  The graphics are very stylized and still look fantastic, even on the GameCube.  Sailing around was a joy, and discovering new islands and caves gave the game a sense of exploration I hadn’t quite felt before.  I thought the dungeons and the bosses alike were a blast to play through.  The plot took some very interesting turns, even showing us the fall of Hyrule (well, in one of the timelines).  Heck, I didn’t even mind that map and treasure hunting bit.  Too much.

I was late to the Wind Waker party… I think I first played in sometime in 2008.  I didn’t really get hooked, though… I tend to need to be in the right mood to play adventure games.  I picked it up again sometime in 2009, and got completely addicted to it.  I’ve always enjoyed Zelda games, but I’ve never been so fully engrossed by one before The Wind Waker.

Write Something!

