Zelda Challenge – Day 1

Day 1: When was your first time playing The Legend of Zelda, what game was it, and how was your experience?

Memories of my first real Zelda experience is kind of hazy.  The first time I really saw the game was at my aunt’s house when I was four or five, and I would watch her play the original, and a little bit of Zelda II.  I may have tried it once or twice myself, but I really didn’t do much with it at that young age.  I wanted to play Sonic instead.

Fast forward about six years.  Maybe more, I’m not sure.  Pokemon Red got me back into gaming, and my mom celebrated by buying herself… er, I mean me The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening, and that’s the first time I’ve seriously played the series.  I loved it.  It had Mario aspects (bow-wows anyone?) and fun gameplay, and while I was terrible at puzzle solving back int he day, we had the walkthrough so I never really had to worry about getting stuck.  I never beat it when I was younger, but I was more than content to play it over and over again.

It’s funny how Link’s Awakening is still one of  my favorite Zeldas (depending on the day, the weather, and the games I recall… I’m so indecisive).

Write Something!

