Sometimes It’s Best To Let Go

A few days ago, I did something I hadn’t done in years… I sold off some video games. I didn’t really have a reason to do it, either; I wasn’t in bad financial straits, nor was I running tight on my gaming budget… I didn’t even buy a new game with my funds. I simply sold some games off… and guess what?

I’m glad I did it.

As of recent, my backlog has grown to pretty monstrous proportions. Impulse buying and the thought of ‘having to get a game when it goes on sale’ has made it so I have over four hundred games. The worse part was that I felt as though I needed all of those games.

“Oh, we can’t sell that one, I might play it again.” “Wait, I still want to try that one out.” “I don’t really like this one, but what’s the point of getting rid of it?” The excuses went on and on. The one that really sealed the deal, though, was that I’d never make any money back. Gamestop and other companies, big and small, offer a pittance for trade-ins, only to turn around and sell them for many times the buying price.

I think another thing was seller’s remorse. I sold my games all the time as a kid, and I’m sad that I did now. I sold away so many classics, and games I wish I could own again. I suppose that stopped me in my tracks whenever I wanted to sell something… because I was so worried that I was going to regret it, I just put it back on the shelf, no matter how much I disliked it.

However, recently Best Buy ran a deal where you got double the money for trading in games. Not the best deal, sure… but looking at some of the games we had, it wasn’t a bad deal. Six bucks for Ninety Nine Nights, a game I both didn’t spend much on and didn’t like? Not bad. At first, Bacon and I only turned in a couple 360 games… but that was only the beginning.

When we did that, I realized something: It’s okay to get rid of games. If I don’t enjoy a game, or am never going to play it again, it’s alright to get rid of it. I guess something clicked in my mind, and I started going through our other collections… and found a fair amount of games that we were never going to touch, or ‘trimming the fat’, if you will. Some we sold to Best Buy, others to friends, but the end result is the same–after so many years, I actually sold video games in my collection.

So what’s the moral of this story? There probably isn’t one for a lot of you… but for me, I learned that just because you collect something, doesn’t mean to have to keep everything you hate. I learned that just because it’s a part of your hobby, you don’t have to embrace the bad with the good; you can just enjoy the good. Oh, and the most important thing of all? Sometimes, it’s best to just let go.

Write Something!

