Gaming Overview: July 2012

Another month, another thirty-one days of game playing!  July wasn’t really the best month for getting games beat, but there’s still plenty to write about, thanks especially to sales and cool games coming out.  Remember, I take a lot of these stats from my Backloggery page, so there’s that.  Time for the monthly wall of text!

Any new games?

Of course, thanks to the Steam Summer Sale!  From that alone I picked up about twenty games, almost completely clearing out my wishlist and getting a ton of great games on the cheap.  I’m not going to list them all here, since that’d be a lot, so just trust me on the fact that it’s a lot.

In other news, I also picked up non-Steam games this month.  These are Theatrhythm: Final Fantasy (music games!), Spelunky (dying a lot!), Mighty Switch Force! (eShop sales!?), Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception (clearance sales on the Collector’s Edition!), Castlevania: Lord of Shadow (Newegg sales!), Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time (PSP isn’t quite dead!), Yggdra Union and Riviera (Atlus PSN sales!), Phantom Brave: The Hermuda Triangle (ports with added content!) and the IndieRoyale July Jubilee bundle.  Quite a few games, not even including the Steam sales.

What did you beat?

…Not much, thanks to a certain rhythm game I bought this month.

  • Theatrhythm: Final Fantasy (7-05) – It’s a fun, addictive, and well made rhythm game.  It certainly took a lot of my game playing time this month.  Great game for Final Fantasy fans.
  • Fire Emblem: Path of Radiance (7-15) – Nice addition to the series.  It’s a bit on the easy side, so it’s good for beginners to Fire Emblem.  First game in 3D too, so it looks a little rough, but you don’t really play an SRPG for the graphics.
  • Mighty Switch Force! (7-20) – Short, but overall fun.  The difficulty of the last level is a bit much, and I wish the new idea the game introduced was implemented further, but it was pretty fun while it lasted.
  • Shining Force: The Legacy of Great Intention (7-29) – As part of my Summer Gaming Challenge, I already wrote a post about it.  Like last month, it’s also IN THE FUTURE.

Now many games beaten this month, but I enjoyed all of them, and that’s what gaming is all about!

Any other accomplishments?

…Not really.  I finished my Final Fantasy V Four Job Fiesta on the 16th, which ended well enough.  I’ve only finished one more Summer Gaming game, bringing the total to three out of ten, though I’m very close to beating Psychonauts.  I’ve been working towards getting a Platinum in Atelier Rorona, which means getting all the endings and other things, but it’s not a big priority.

That’s about it for July!  Next month there’s The Last Story (hopefully for real this time), and maybe not my backlog growing to monstrous proportions.

Write Something!

